The Gods are Crazy (and Scary): Week One of #1B1T and “American Gods”

I knew I should have taken that mythology class in university. Perhaps then I wouldn’t be putting down American Gods every few pages to look up obscure names on Wikipedia.

But even if you don’t know your Bilquis from your Leucotios, you can (and should!) still read American Gods as part of the One Book, One Twitter project (explained in two previous blog posts: One Book, One Twitter and American Gods selected for #1B1T).

This morning I read through the first three chapters, which includes (spoiler alert) Shadow’s release from prison, his return home for the funeral of his recently deceased wife, and a new job with the strange and enigmatic Mr. Wednesday.

A few quick thoughts on my reading experience so far:

  • I’m having a hard time fully immersing myself in the world that Neil Gaiman is creating in the book, and found myself needing to re-read paragraphs to make sure I was grasping the meaning of the text. Not necessarily the book’s fault, but I’m feeling detached from the story. So I found it quite amusing when Shadow experiences something similar:

The words floated through his mind like soap bubbles, there as he read them, gone completely a moment later.

  • I like that Shadow lives up to his name; three chapters in, and we still don’t really know much about him. I’m very curious to find out exactly what he did that landed him in prison, and that will keep me reading.
  • Favourite line so far: “Ideas are more difficult to kill than people, but they can be killed, in the end.”

I’m a bit behind in the Twitter-based discussion, but will be catching up this week by reading chapters 4 through 6. The Follow the Reader blog nicely summarizes the reading schedule and the chapter-by-chapter hashtag conventions that will be used during #1B1T.

Anyone else participating in One Book, One Twitter?

About Erin

Bookworm, word nerd, grammar geek. Small town girl, living in a lonely world. Running a race-per-month in 2013.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Gods are Crazy (and Scary): Week One of #1B1T and “American Gods”

  1. Pingback: One Book, One Twitter, Lots of Gods | Brain Candy Books

Leave a Reply

