Slowest Mile Ever?

“So, uh, this is mostly uphill?”
— random stranger at the start of the Grouse Grind trail

The Grouse Grind TimerWas it folly to attempt my first Grouse Grind of the season this morning, when I had a physio appointment booked for the afternoon to figure out why my knees have been hurting? Perhaps, but after a week of putting off the Grind due to dreary weather, I woke up to sunshine so I did it anyway.

The good news: the trail was in great condition. The bad news: the trail was in great condition. Am I the only person who misses the old days when you got covered in mud from scrambling over rocks and roots?

Steps on the Grouse Grind TrailI took a laid-back approach in deference to my twinge-y knees; the payoff comes in the top half of the climb when I start to pass the folks who sprinted past me in the first quarter but later burned out. Slow and steady might not win the race, but it sure helps finish strong without wanting to puke or pass out.

After finishing the Grind in 1:10, I took a moment to enjoy the feeling of being lost in the clouds. Despite the sunshine in downtown Vancouver, the top of Grouse Mountain was completely socked in. Kind of eerie descending in the tram into nothingness.

Garmin Data for the Grouse GrindGrouse Grind #1
Distance: 1.3 miles
Time: 1:10:04
Pace: ??? Apparently so slow that my Garmin couldn’t calculate it…
Elevation change: 2,579 ft

About Erin

Bookworm, word nerd, grammar geek. Small town girl, living in a lonely world. Running a race-per-month in 2013.
This entry was posted in Running, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

