A Year of Running

Run 12 races in a single year? Are you crazy?

Apparently so. After taking a couple years off from running — following a hip injury during the Royal Victoria Marathon and the all-consuming work of the Vancouver 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games — I was looking for motivation to get active again. Previous fair-weather attempts to start running had inevitably sputtered out due to rain, work, family issues and so on. What I needed was a publicly-stated goal that would get me off my ass and onto the track/trails.

RunDisneyAnd then, while flipping through a copy of Runner’s World magazine, I spotted a full-page advertisement for the Disney Princess Half Marathon in Orlando, Florida. Running through the Disney theme parks? And I get to dress in costume? Sign me up!

Once I made the decision to register (and drag my husband along for the run), I realized that this half marathon could be the launching pad for a fun project: to run a different type of race each month, all year long. No worries about losing motivation to train if there’s always another race just around the corner.

Now my credit card statements are now comprised entirely of race registration fees and purchases at Running Room, and I’ve run out of space for my many pairs of running shoes. And I’ve never been happier.

I hope you’ll join me on this adventure, and perhaps even on a future run. I’ll be posting race recaps on my Year of Running Page.

What’s your running goal?

About Erin

Bookworm, word nerd, grammar geek. Small town girl, living in a lonely world. Running a race-per-month in 2013.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

