My CSA veggie haul

My first CSA haul from Klippers Organics.

My first CSA haul from Klippers Organics.

Veggies!

I’ve been going to Vancouver’s farmers markets for a few years now, but have finally taken the plunge and signed up for a Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) share with Klippers Organics. What’s a CSA? Here’s how Klippers defines it on their website:

…members sign up for a share of the harvest, and pay in advance of the season, which provides the farm timely working capital. This membership relationship provides farmers a secure market for their produce and minimizes the marketing risks normally involved in farming. And members, besides receiving a season’s supply of fresh organic produce, have the satisfaction of knowing where and how their food is grown, of having a tangible connection to the land through the farm (and farmers), and of contributing to the health of their local community.

Worried about not being able to use all the veggies before they spoil, I opted for the ‘small share’ to begin. At $500 for the summer, it works out to about $25 per week. I’m most excited about the ‘mystery basket’ element; much like an episode of my favourite Food Network show Chopped, you don’t know exactly what you’re going to find inside.

Although this is my first week picking up my share, it’s actually the third week for Klippers to be distributing the shares. I wasn’t receiving the notification emails for some reason, and missed out on the first two weeks. Happily, when I inquired via Twitter asking when the CSA would begin, they responded within minutes and resolved the problem immediately, even giving me a $50 credit in lieu of the missed veggies.

So what was in this week’s basket? We’ve got:

  • A bunch of beets
  • A bag of carrots
  • Garlic scapes (which will be sauteed and mixed into mashed cauliflower)
  • Lettuce
  • Zuccini
  • Kohlrabi
  • Kale
  • Mint
  • Fresh garlic
  • Broccoli

I used $10 of my credit to supplement with some fresh basil and a bottle of apple juice. The rhubarb is from another vendor, since I want to replicate my rhubarb-strawberry-coconut crumble concoction from last week.

Do you CSA?

About Erin

Bookworm, word nerd, grammar geek. Small town girl, living in a lonely world. Running a race-per-month in 2013.
Image | This entry was posted in Foodstuffs, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My CSA veggie haul

  1. Tammy says:

    Scapes mashed into cauliflower sounds amazing.

    • Erin says:

      It’s really good! I used to add them to mashed potatoes, but since I stopped eating potatoes I’ve just switched up the recipe to use cauliflower. Chop up the scapes, sauté for a few minutes in some butter, then stir them into mashed cauliflower (I add some extra butter and a bit of nutmeg).

  2. Pingback: So. Many. Veggies. | Brain Candy Books

Leave a Reply

