In a Pickle

Early morning alarm. Sore legs. Nope, I didn’t run the Lululemon SeaWheeze Half Marathon this morning, but I did wake up early to head down to the SeaWall to cheer on the participants. (The sore legs came from one-handed clapping against my thigh while trying to simultaneously tweet about the race.)

Faster, blurry runners, faster!

Faster, blurry runners, faster!

By the time the bulk of the 10,014 runners had passed the 5K mark, it was time to mosey on up to the West End Farmers Market to pick up this week’s CSA basket (along with a slight detour to COBS Bread for a raspberry and custard teatime the size of my head). The veggie haul included:

  • Carrots
  • Torpedo red onions
  • Beans
  • Cucumber
  • Zucchini
  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • Heirloom Tomatoes
  • Apricots
Veggies

Veggies from the Klippers Organics CSA.

Cobs

Artistically framed shot of giant pastry to avoid revealing that I’d already eaten half on the way home.

We’ve been better about using up each week’s veggies before they go bad, especially now that there’s less lettuce and other salad greens. But the cucumbers were piling up — three weeks of cucumbers and I hadn’t sliced a single one yet. So what do you do with lots of cucumbers?

Make pickles. I’ve got a canning phobia that’s rooted less in fears of glass jars exploding than with memories of the way our house would stink of pickling spices for days when my mom went through a canning phase. But this year I started hearing about refrigerator pickles, which seemed like much less work and worry.

After checking through several recipes (and eliminating most because I didn’t have key ingredients handy) and relying on the awesomely helpful @emvandee to identify what type of cucumbers I had (Long English, apparently), I ended up going with this recipe recommended by @shandyrae.

Old pasta sauce jar re-purposed, cucumbers sliced, fresh garlic crushed, water and vinegar mixed with some salt, and into the fridge it goes.

Pickles

The great pickle experiment.

Will my CSA cucumbers be miraculously turned into delicious pickles? Will they even be edible? We’ll find out in two days.

About Erin

Bookworm, word nerd, grammar geek. Small town girl, living in a lonely world. Running a race-per-month in 2013.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In a Pickle

  1. jpadamson says:

    I hope so! They sound deliciously easy and I’ve been looking into trying my hand at refrigerator pickles myself!

  2. Tammy says:

    I just got back from Germany and really got into having pickles on the breakfast table. I was thinking of trying this.

Leave a Reply

