Whole30 (or, putting the skinny back into skinny jeans)

I have a weakness for donuts. And ice cream. And potato chips. And grande iced caramel macchiatos. And although I actually eat pretty well most of the time, the frequency of treat consumption has skyrocketed over the past summer. Combined with a less demanding running regime since June’s half marathon, and well, my skinny jeans don’t fit anymore.

So, it’s time for a reset. Just over a year ago, I read It Starts With Food which explains the Whole30 concept and serves as a great introduction to the Paleo diet. During my first Whole30 — which involves 30 days of clean eating; no grains, dairy, legumes, (added) sugar or alcohol — I dropped about 25 pounds and felt so much better. Since then, I’ve been following a mostly Paleo diet, except for the occasional indulgence as noted above, and that worked well until occasional slipped back into every damn day.

To get back on track (and kickstart my training for the Tinker Bell Half Marathon), for the next 30 days I’ll be following the Whole30 guidelines, which actually allow for a great variety of awesome eats. As the creators of the Whole30 put it:

Eat real food – meat, seafood, eggs, tons of vegetables, some fruit, and plenty of good fats from fruits, oils, nuts and seeds. Eat foods with very few ingredients, all pronounceable ingredients, or better yet, no ingredients listed at all because they’re totally natural and unprocessed.

To get ready for a month of clean eating, I spent the day reorganizing the fridge and cupboards (anything containing sugar gets tossed or moved to the back — out of sight, out of mind)  and doing some food prep for the next couple of days: making homemade mayonnaise, blending together a basil pesto, brining chicken, and pickling a few more cucumbers.

Serendipitously, two brand-spanking-new Paleo cookbooks arrived in my mailbox today as well. Not every recipe will be Whole3o-approved, since everyone has their own interpretation of what can be included and still be called Paleo, but they’ll provide lots of new options and ideas.

If you’re thinking of trying a Whole30, my favourite resources (aside from the official website, of course) are Nom Nom Paleo’s blog and the Well Fed cookbook.

I’ll report back weekly on what we’re eating and how the Whole30 is going, partially because blogging about it will keep me on track when I’m tempted by that pint of Earnest Ice Cream in the freezer. See you in a month, my precious…

Have you done a Whole30? How did it go? Let me know in the comments.

About Erin

Bookworm, word nerd, grammar geek. Small town girl, living in a lonely world. Running a race-per-month in 2013.
This entry was posted in Foodstuffs. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whole30 (or, putting the skinny back into skinny jeans)

  1. Pingback: Whole30: Week One | Brain Candy Books

Leave a Reply

