October 2013: Turkey Trot 10K

Race Stats
Date: October 14, 2013
Distance: 10k (6.2 miles)
Pace: 10:14 min/mile
Finish Time: 1:02:14
Overall Place: 541/949

What better way to ensure you’ll be really hungry for Thanksgiving dinner gluttony than to run a 10K on Thanksgiving morning?

This was our second year running the Granville Island Turkey Trot 10K, and just like last year, the weather was absolutely perfect: blue sky, crisp but not cold, and no sign of rain.

A brisk walk to the Aquabus served as our warm-up, and a few minutes later we were at the start line on Granville Island.

The course — which weaves through Granville Island and heads up over the Burrard Bridge before following the Seawall around False Creek, past Science World and the Olympic Village and back to Granville Island — covers a fair bit of my regular weekday running route, so it’s familiar territory. Would have loved to have more than just the one water station, though, especially since the city turned off the public water fountains last week.

One of my frustrations with last year’s Turkey Trot was how many people ignored the ‘strollers start at the back’ rule. The event organizers did a much better job this year of ensuring that strollers started after the bulk of runners, but there were still a few issues with a couple of fast stroller-runners weaving in and out of the crowds. Perhaps the solution is actually having the stroller category start first?

After crossing the finish line and quickly grabbing some water and an apple (there was quite the spread of food for runners — including fruit, veggies, sandwiches and a great deal of cake), I headed straight to the massage tent line-up. Byron finished a few minutes later and joined me in line. I absolutely love it when races offer post-race rub-downs by local massage schools. I had a tiny little thing as my masseuse, but goddamn was she strong. At one point, she was working on my calf and I yelped so loudly that the supervisor came over to check on me and make sure I was okay. Hurts so good…

After we’d had the kinks worked out and did a bit more stretching, it was off to brunch. Edible Canada had been kind enough to let me know via Twitter that they would be open for brunch on the holiday, so that’s where we headed. I love the Edible Canada take-away window in the summer, but this was my first time eating in the restaurant proper. The food was good, but it was the bittersweet hot chocolate that won my heart. It’s practically the same as post-race chocolate milk, right?

And that’s a wrap for the Turkey Trot. Although I didn’t have quite the finish time I wanted, I had a good time, and the perfect weather gave me a lot to be thankful for.

For November’s race, I’ve signed up for the Poppy Run 8K in Stanley Park.

About Erin

Bookworm, word nerd, grammar geek. Small town girl, living in a lonely world. Running a race-per-month in 2013.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

