The Journey Begins

20140204-180207.jpg

“I volunteer as tribute!”

Okay, perhaps it wasn’t quite that dramatic when I volunteered for the Sochi 2014 Olympic Winter Games. But I am taking a journey into a fiercely competitive arena where who-knows-what awaits me.

I am currently en route to Sochi where I will be volunteering as a “flash quote reporter” at Bolshoy Ice Dome for men’s ice hockey. Although this will be my third Winter Games, it’s a new role for me and my first time volunteering for a Games versus being paid staff.

After a year of preparation, my volunteer journey officially started yesterday (I think — overnight flights and time zones are messing with my perception of time) with a flight from Vancouver to London, and onward to Moscow. I’ve just arrived at Domodedovo Airport, at 5:30am local time, more than a little disoriented and already experiencing a whole lot of culture shock.

20140204-180042.jpg

Now to grab the train into central Moscow and cram as much sightseeing as possible into a 26-hour layover before taking the final leg into Sochi tomorrow.

Let the Games begin.

(My updates from Sochi are being shared via VancityBuzz, who graciously provided Quatchi.)

About Erin

Bookworm, word nerd, grammar geek. Small town girl, living in a lonely world. Running a race-per-month in 2013.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

