Trash into Treasure?

What do you do with all the stuff you’ve amassed over the years, when it no longer holds any sentimental value but isn’t quite ready for the trash bin either?

One of the downsides of downtown condo living is that holding a traditional garage sale is logistically complicated. And the online sites like Craigslist and Kijijijiwhatever tend to be more hassle than they’re worth… too much back-and-forth with strangers who want to haggle and then never show up for pick up anyway. Donations to charity-supporting thrift stores are another option, but if given the choice, I like knowing that the items in question are going somewhere they’re wanted… not just tossed into a bag that maybe will get sorted and priced and maybe bought but maybe tossed into the trash after all if they don’t find a home.

So, as part of a general clean-up of my apartment and storage locker, I’m going to post photos of various items that need a new home. For the most part, they’re going to be free to anyone I know that actually wants them and can pick them up in Yaletown; a few exceptions will be noted…

BOOKS, BOOKS, BOOKS

ASSORTED SPORTS MEMORABILIA

FREE KNICK-KNACKS AND PADDY-WHACKS

BIG-TICKET ITEMS

I’m so sad about this one, but I’m selling my almost-brand-new KitchenAid Architect Series food processor. It’s got a 13-cup bowl with a 4-cup mini bowl, tons of different accessories for slicing, dicing, grating, whipping, mixing, et cetera. Full specs here. I’ve only used it about 5 times, but quickly realized that it’s just too big for my small kitchen. Retails for $400CDN + tax — I’m selling mine for $200.

food-processor

Pretty purple John Fluevog boots, Adriana Lunas, women’s size 8 (they fit snug):

fluevog

Only wore them a few times, and the boots are in great condition except for some light scuffing around the toes because I’m a klutz who can’t walk up stairs without banging my toes.

These boots sell for $299 brand new at the Fluevog stores. Original specs and description here.

Also selling this barely-worn men’s leather jacket, Armani Exchange, originally $400, selling for $100:

jacket

If you’re interested in any of the above items, email or tweet me. More will be added as I work my way through storage.

About Erin

Bookworm, word nerd, grammar geek. Small town girl, living in a lonely world. Running a race-per-month in 2013.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment